SUP Fundamentals

£110.00

 

Evenings or Saturday mornings

Our popular SUP Fundamentals course is designed to give you the confidence to paddle independently.

This course includes both fundamental personal paddling and safety & rescue skills. On completion you will be able to paddle efficiently and effectively in a range of conditions. You’ll leave equipped with skills to ensure your own safety and that of others, and with appropriate rescue skills to help yourself and others in difficulty. 

We find people tend go on to buy their own kit, paddle with friends, organise their own trips, and train as instructors.

Days: Tuesday or Wednesday Evenings (18:30) or Saturday mornings (9:00)
Course length: 4 week course (consecutive day across consecutive weeks)
Session duration: 90 minutes a week

2022 Start Dates (sessions run weekly for four weeks from this date)

Tue 3 May 18:30-20:00
Wed 4 May 18:30-20:00
Sat 7 May 9:00-10:30
Tue 7 June 18:30-20:00
Wed 8 June 18:30-20:00
Sat 11 June 9:00-10:30
Tue 5 July 18:30-20:00
Wed 6 July 18:30-20:00
Sat 9 July 9:00-10:30
Tue 9 Aug 18:30-20:00
Wed 10 Aug 18:30-20:00
Sat 13 Aug 9:00-10:30
Tue 6 Sept 18:00-19:30
Wed 7 Sept 18:00-19:30
Sat 10 Sept 9:00-10:30

Spaces always sell out quickly – book early.


Category:

Additional information

Who is it for?

Who is this course for?

Anyone who wants to get out and explore on their SUP independently with friends and family or as part of a club. You do not need to have your own paddleboard, but you are welcome to bring it with you if you do. We ask that you have been paddleboarding a few times and feel comfortable kneeling, standing and paddling a short journey.

Course content

Personal skills:

Lifting, carrying and launching
Efficient forward paddling
Steering strokes
Moving sideways
Kahi and reverse Kahi stroke (cross bow sweep)
Step back pivot turn
Personal risk management
Awareness of others
Equipment theory
Access
Environment
Trip planning

Safety and rescue skills:

General theory and planning
Safety and Rescue protocols
Bank-based rescues
Coaching swimmers to shore
Rescuing swimmers from the shore
Rescue swimmer using a throw line
Rescue of conscious casualties from the water
Rescue a capsized paddler using a deep water rescue
Rescue of an unconscious paddler
Use of towlines
Self-rescue
Scenarios

Course start dates

Wed 28 April, Sat 1 May, Wed 2 June, Sat 5 June, Wed 7 July, Sat 10 July, Wed 4 Aug, Sat 7 Aug, Wed 1 Sep, Sat 4 Sep

BOOK NOW