SUP Fundamentals

£97.00

 

Wednesday evenings or Saturday mornings

Our SUP Fundamentals course is designed to give you the confidence to paddle independently.

This course includes both fundamental personal paddling and safety & rescue skills. On completion you will be able to paddle efficiently and effectively in a range of conditions. You’ll leave equipped with skills to ensure your own safety and that of others, and with appropriate rescue skills to help yourself and others in difficulty. The course is run in small groups of a maximum of six.

We find people tend go on to buy their own kit, paddle with friends, organise their own trips, and train as instructors – it really does work!

Upcoming dates:

  • Wed 29 April – Wed 20 May (18:30 – 20:00)
  • Wed 3 June – Wed 24 June (18:30 – 20:00)
  • Sat 6 June – Sat 27 June (9:00 – 10.30)
  • Wed 1 July – Wed 22 July (18:30 – 20:00)
  • Sat 4 July – Sat 25 July (9:00 – 10.30)
  • Sat 1 August – Sat 22 August (9:00 – 10.30)
  • Wed 5 August – Wed 26 August (18:30 – 20:00)
  • Wed 2 September – Wed 23 September (18:30 – 20:00)
  • Sat 5 September – Sat 26 September (9:00 – 10.30)

Spaces always sell out quickly – book soon.

Course duration
Six hours (over four sessions)

Clear
SKU: N/A Category:

Additional information

Who is it for?

Who is this course for?

Anyone who wants to get out and explore on their SUP independently with friends and family or as part of a club. You do not need to have your own paddleboard, but you are welcome to bring it with you if you do. We ask that you have been paddleboarding a few times and feel comfortable kneeling, standing and paddling a short journey.

Course content

Personal skills:

Lifting, carrying and launching
Efficient forward paddling
Steering strokes
Moving sideways
Kahi and reverse Kahi stroke (cross bow sweep)
Step back pivot turn
Personal risk management
Awareness of others
Equipment theory
Access
Environment
Trip planning

Safety and rescue skills:

General theory and planning
Safety and Rescue protocols
Bank-based rescues
Coaching swimmers to shore
Rescuing swimmers from the shore
Rescue swimmer using a throw line
Rescue of conscious casualties from the water
Rescue a capsized paddler using a deep water rescue
Rescue of an unconscious paddler
Use of towlines
Self-rescue
Scenarios

Start date

Wed 29 April, Wed 3 June, Sat 6 June, Wed 1 July, Sat 4 July, Sat 1 August, Wed 5 August, Wed 2 September, Sat 5 September